Sree Ganeshan snake boat wins Nehru Trophy boat race

Tourism Minister Chiranjeevi greets participants during the Nehru Trophy snake boat race at Alappuzha on Saturday. PTI

Alappuzha: Sree Ganeshan Chundan, the snake boat, won the prestigious Nehru Trophy in a thrilling finale of the 61st edition of annual boat race held on Saturday at picturesque Punnamada lake in Alappuzha.

This is the second consecutive year Sree Ganeshan has won the glittering silver trophy, donated by Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru way back in 1952 with his signature embossed on it, after a visit to the state.

Jawahar Thayankeri and Anari Chundan won the second and third spots respectively.

22 chundans (snake boats) and 41 other country boats participated in the race, inaugurated by Kerala Governor Nikhil Kumar, who handed over the trophies to the winners. Tourism minister K. Chiranjeevi was the Chief Guest.

Union ministers K.C. Venugopal, Kodikunnil Suresh and Jitendra Singh were among those present.